New Level, New Devil

 Understand [this], my beloved brethren. Let every man be quick to hear [a ready listener], slow to speak, slow to take offense and to get angry.   For man’s anger does not promote the righteousness God [wishes and requires]. ” James 1:19-20 (amp)

“New Level, New Devil”…  I had never heard this saying until about 5 or 6 weeks ago.  It’s an interesting phrase. I poked around and did a search on that phrase.  It’s interesting what I found….

“Every time God is getting ready to position you for the next level all hell will break loose around you – – THIS IS A FACT.

Over the years, I have learned to expect some trouble right before the triumph.

One of the ways that I know that God is working is when the enemy comes in and legitimizes the fact that what God is doing for me is FOR REAL. If it weren’t God and it weren’t a threat to the enemy’s agenda, the enemy wouldn’t bother!

When setbacks and obstacles come into your life as a believer, often times you think that you must be doing something wrong when the enemy attacks, yet nothing could be further from the truth!

“The enemy comes to steal kill and destroy…” John 10:10″ (http://davidcrank.com/new-level-new-devil)

I am not so bold as to think that God is getting ready to position me for the next level or that something so completely amazing is about to happen.  Perhaps He is, but that’s up to Him.  What I do believe though is that when we finally jump off the fence of complacency and begin to make our way directly to the heart of God’s pupose and love and desire… well I believe that Satan is not happy about that.  See, I believe that when we are just coasting along, doing just enough, that Satan is just happy to leave us alone.  He doesn’t want to do anything that would make us reach out for help.   But when we step out boldly, unashamed  and with firm resolution and conviction declare that we want more of God in our lives.  That we are willing to Say Yes To God and give Him total control over our lives – and mean what we say …  well I think that Satan gets rattled.  He does not want to loose one.  He does not want a “red hot” Christ follower, he’s quite content to keep us all lukewarm.

But this idea of a “new level, new devil” well perhaps this could explain a few things about this day?  I crossed paths with my step-daughter very early this morning.  I don’t know exactly what happened.  But she ended up seriously angry and seriously snotty with me because I didn’t answer her question???  What was that about?  I know I should have been more patient and ChristLike… sorry, I had been up 20 minutes.  I am NOT a morning person.  This is my house… this is not your house.  You do not have my permission to take that tone with me.  I told her she needed to dial it down.  That of course made her worse.  I just turned and walked back in the house, closing the door behind me.  Her father can deal with that.

Fast forward 45 minutes…  My mother in law calls to let us know that she was thinking about inviting some folks to a gathering coming this Saturday.  The problem…  it’s my husband former fiance’!  (she was no longer his fiance’ quite some time when we met)  What????  I didnt’ get crazy…. I didn’t yell…  I know that shouldn’t bother me, but we had some serious issues with this woman when we started dating.  My husband let his mother know very quickly that we won’t be attending if she’s there.  She couldn’t understand why??????

Both of these incidents left him a little bit agitated…. and me to.  Fast forward another hour.  He’s getting ready to go out for some errands…  one wrong word from me and now we’re sniping at each other.

It’s now 10 PM, I’ve been trying to concentrate for most of the evening.  I’ve tried reading scripture.  I just can’t seem to make heads or tails of it tonight.  I’ve having a crazy time just getting these words down on paper as well. 

New level… new devil.   a day with anger, hurtful words and behavior, and confusion???? 

It strikes me the more that I think about the days events that I recognize that one of the biggest issues I have is with my anger and my quick mouth.  For the most part, I am very slow to anger, but there are just some things that make me nutty.  Disrespect is one of them.   I could have so easily “gone off” on my step-daughter (the back story for the confrontation… well… let’s just say yikes) and let her know exactly what I was thinking about her plot.  But I didn’t.  Likewise, I could have also gone off on my mother in law and let her know what’s what.  But I didn’t.  God knows that I’ve confessed my stuggle in this area before.  Perhaps that’s the reason for the “new devil”? Don’t know. 

But I don’t care what happened then, this is now and  Lord, I want to see you.  I want to hear you, I want to know you, I want to follow hard after you.  And even before I know what I will face tomorrow.  I’m still saying yes.

Old devil… new devil…   you are the same as you’ve always been.  you have nothing new.  you can go back to where you came from, you are NOT welcome here.

Leave a Reply

