The Long Awakening – A Book Review

The Long Awakening, a memoirThe Long Awakening, a memoir by Lindsey O’Connor

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
The riveting true story of a life-threatening coma, a miraculous awakening, and the long quest to regain what was lost.

From the front flap: “The day our baby came into the world was the day I left. A day that began all smiles and excitement and anticipation and joy ended with running and panic and blood and tears. And then coma.I lay suspended in the deep, my newborn unknown. Nothingness. Layers where dark pulled from below, light called from above, and me, trapped in between, longing to break the surface. To live.
Forty-seven days later when I first saw my husband’s face leaning close to me, I knew where, and who, I was. But other things took much longer to know. Learning to restitch life–and love–when everything’s changed, and finding who we are afterward, can be the longest journey of all.

I’m Lindsey O’Connor, and this is the story of my long awakening.”

I just finished reading this book. This is, by far, one of the best written books that I have read in a very long time. It is a story of being alive just outside of deaths door. It is a story of love and despair. It is a story of returning back to life after being snatched back from the brink. Surviving the 47-day medically-induced coma is just the start to this beautifully written and brutally candid story.Be warned tho, The Long Awakening is no mere memoir…. if you pick up this book you will not soon put it down.

View all my reviews

This book is available online at:
Deeper Shopping Christian Books and Bibles

Leave a Reply

