I Think I Am The Richest Woman On Earth

According to the American Heritage Dictionary, wealth is defined as:

1.         a great quantity or store of money, valuable possessions, property, or other riches
2.        an abundance or profusion of anything; plentiful amount
3.         in Economics it is defined as:.
             a.  all things that have a monetary or exchange value.
             b. anything that has utility and is capable of being appropriated or exchanged.
4.         rich or valuable contents or produce
5.         the state of being rich; prosperity; affluence

And this eye-opener, the American Heritage Dictionary now lists obsolete definition…

6.            Obsolete. happiness.  (when did happiness become obsolete, but that for another story I guess)

While reading my devotional this morning about the woman of faith that knew she would be healed from her bleeding affliction if she could just touch the hem of His garment… I began to think about the wealth of her faith.

That caused me to think about my own wealth…  my blessings and wealth.  Those things that I have… and where do I fall into on this world’s view of wealth.      

After a careful inventory of all that I have… I am happy to report that by this world’s standard, I am not wealthy. 

I don’t own my own home… rather I rent from someone else. (I guess that makes my landlord wealthy).  I don’t own my car… actually I owe more than I can afford (so that makes the bank wealthy). I don’t have money in my bank account… rather I don’t know what I am going to do after the next 30 days (so that defines me as poor, nearly indigent).  I don’t have prestige or position or power… rather most people in this world have never heard my name (so that makes me not only poor and indigent, but anonymous).  I don’t have gold and silver or diamonds and emeralds (golly now I’m poor, indigent, anonymous and …  oh why should I even be allowed to live in the world)

I don’t have….  I don’t have… I don’t have.

But that’s what the world says… and by their standards….  I am not wealthy…

But they are so very wrong.  I am actually a very very very wealthy woman.  Because you see, I have riches beyond my wildest dreams. 

I have a house to live in that is warm and dry

I have food to eat

I have water to drink

I have clothes to wear

I have another month of money

I have a car to drive

And while all of those are fine and good, what I do have is God’s blessing on my life… and that…. No man can put a price on.

I am blessed with Godly parents that raised me to love and worship the Lord.

I am blessed with friends of the world that love me

I am blessed with my brothers and sisters in the Lord that pray for me, encourage me, cry with me, laugh with me, fret with me, and rejoics with me.

I am blessed that I am forgiven, that He took my sins to the cross.

I am blessed with the peace of knowing Jesus and that He loves me and counts me as His

I am blessed that He is working miracles in my life.

I am blessed with more than I deserve… I am rich beyond my wildest dreams with the grace of God leading my life.  I have placed my trust in the God of the universe. He is God of the impossible. He parts the waters in my impossible situations. He makes water flow from a rock in my desert places, and make my cup overflow with abundance of all He is.  And I wait in joyful expectancy for His continued riches and His abundances; He is performing the impossible in my life.

So take me off the list of the world’s richest people… and sign me up under the obsolete definition of wealth…  happiness.  Joy and peace and happiness and contentment.

Leave a Reply

