The Fence Of Complacency

“I do know that Satan hates the radically obedient soul.  He hates it when a person jumps off the fence of complacency and into the center of God’s will.”  (When a Woman Says Yes to God, pg 93)fence of complacency

My random thoughts on that quote…

1.  In order to jump off the fence…  I would have to be on the fence – sitting or standing.  If I’m sitting, I’m safe.  I’m not teetering on the fence like I would be if I were standing (in my opinion) I’m oblivious to what is on either side of the fence.  I’m in a place where I don’t have to make a decision. Life can go merrily along.  Since I am not required to make a decision to go in either direction… either decision is okay.   Either decision is okay… sort of like standing with one foot in the world and one foot in the Kingdom???  Or Revelations 3:15 – “I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other”

2.  However, in order to jump off the fence I think that I would have to be standing on the fence.  I think that if you’re sitting on the fence, then all you need do is push or slide yourself off the fence.  Therefore I think standing makes the most sense.  That makes things a little more interesting.  I would think (again in my opinion) that that would be a more precarious place to be.  I don’t think it would take much for a person standing on a fence to be blown over.  I don’t think it would take much of a storm at all to cause me to fall over.

3.  I did look up complacency in the dictionary…  1) Unawareness of actual dangers or deficiencies, 2) Unconcerned, 3) Tending to consent to others’ wishes.

So now I’m standing/teetering on a fence unaware and unconcerned about what is on either side and letting other’s decide which way to go.  Whew.

But now I want to jump off that fence and land in the center of God’s will.

I don’t know why, but I seem to have the hardest time defining God’s will.  I do know what it is, but to write it down and put it into words… that is not so easy.

Here’s what I think so far…  To be in God’s will means that in my life I am doing what God’s purpose is for me.  I am fulfilling His desire and plan for my life.  I think first of all, God’s will is my relationship with Him.  That relationship is my first priority… NOTHING comes ahead of it.  His will is that in every aspect of my life, I will serve and honor Him.  I will depend on Him for everything and I will place all my trust in Him and accept totally that He will guide my life in the path that He wants me to follow.  And we’re back to radical obedience.

Jumping off the fence of complacency and into the center of God’s will… 

I don’t want to be complacent.  I don’t want to be lukewarm.  I don’t want other’s to determine my thoughts.  I don’t want to be unaware of approaching dangers.  I don’t want to be unconcerned about blatant sins in my life. 

I want to be totally aware.  I want to be hot.  I want my thoughts  to be those of God.  I want to see the dangers that are approaching. 

I know that God has a purpose in my life.  He has not allowed me to experience my life in all it’s beauty and ugly without having a purpose in mind.  I know that He has a plan.  I don’t know what that plan is.  I know that I trust that one day I will know.  So for now, I’m going to try to jump off the fence and see where He leads.  Join me?

Leave a Reply

