The Widow’s Offering – #isaidyes

 41 Jesus sat down opposite the place where the offerings were put and watched the crowd putting their money into the temple treasury. Many rich people threw in large amounts. 42But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a few cents.

 43 Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. 44 They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.” Mark 12:41-44

Things had gone from bad to worse in the financial area of my life at that time.  The business that I had started with my late-husband Jack had all but dried up… the money that I was earning from another job had also disappeared.  I was down to the last of my dollars.

It was Sunday morning.  I was driving to Church.  It was a burden on my heart that I was not able to afford to give anything in the Church offereing that morning.  My checkbook had just $12.83 remaining after paying my other bills that month.  Yet my car insurance bill had showed up in the mail and they wanted somewhere around $30.00.  I had no idea where that money was going to come from.  Things didn’t look good.

Alone in the car on my way to Church, I cried out to Jesus that I needed a financial blessings and that my heart was sad that I had nothing to contribute to the offering.  I cried out with all that I had.

I rode in silence for the next 20 minutes or so.  Just thinking to myself over and over that I had no money to give.  I heard within me… “you have money in your checking account”.  I rolled my eyes to myself.  Ya, right I have $12.83…  “you have money in your checking account”.  I heard the words again.  This time I took notice of the words.      

I got to the Church a few minutes early and pulled out my check book.  “Okay Lord, Here I go.  I’m trusting you”.  You promised You would never leave me of foresake me, and I’m holding You to it.”  And with that I wrote a check for $1.28.  I gave that check at the offering and prayed that it would be blessed.  widowsmite

Several days had gone by when an old customer from my business called saying that they wanted some new work done on a website I had written for them.  We made an appointment for the next day.

I hadn’t seen this customer in many many months and it was great to catch up.  It wasn’t the time for me to say anything about what was going on in my life financially…  I answered her questions with “Oh life is going very great”.  It wasn’t her burden to carry.  After a while, we talked about the work she wanted done  I gave her a price that the work she wanted would be $300.00 and it would take me a couple weeks to complete it.  We agreed on the price.

We chatted again about this and that.  After an hour or so, she just got up and went to her purse to get her checkbook.  “I need to pay you now”.  I said that wasn’t necessary, it would be fine to wait until the work was done. “No.  I need to pay you half now”.  And with that she wrote a check for $150.00.  She handed me the check and I just smiled at her.  She asked me why I was smiling.  I then related the entire story of my finances and the $1.28 check to the Church just 4 days earlier. 

She just smiled and praised Jesus for impressing on her heart to write the check that day.  She asked why I didn’t ask for half payment when we agreed on the price.   I didn’t know why I didn’t ask.  I asked her why she had to write the check and she told me that something in her heart told her to.  We both knew why she wrote that check. 

I trusted in the Lord that my needs were going to be met by HIM alone.  I kept my silence in this matter.  I trusted in Him and He blessed me more than 100-fold.  The next day, I sent a check to the insurance company.   He IS my Jehovah Jireh – My Provider.

One thought on “The Widow’s Offering – #isaidyes

  1. All God asks of us is to obediently say #YestoGod. Radical obedience brings with it radical blessings. We are never told what happened to that widow, but I know that somehow God provided more than enough for her, plus a place of honor in The Book!
    Blessings,
    Barbara P.
    OBS Small Group Leader/Prayer Warrior Team

Leave a Reply

