Why Fiction?

I’ve taken the same step as this writer this year… not in an effort to focus on my writing, but in order just to focus. I love to read… and I find that other things, things that I want to say were getting lost. Hence, the new blog and less…. but more choosy titles on this blog.

adoptingjames

ReadingNovels

Last month I made an unusual New Year’s resolution for someone as widely-read as myself: It was to read less. It’s been a challenge limiting my book intake in order to focus on my writing.

So in honor of my resolution to spend less time reading, I have to be even more selective of the books I do read than I ever have been before.

I’m having to put aside my beloved history and biography books for a while to focus on fiction to help shape my own writing, but in the realm of fiction, there’s still so much to choose from.

Here’s a list of reasons fiction is good for not just writers such as myself, but for everyone.

1) Fiction can help shape or break a worldview

Oftentimes an author will write about a certain topic because they’re passionate about it. And more often than not, that topic will…

View original post 304 more words

Leave a Reply

