Pilgrim’s Progress

The Pilgrim's ProgressThe Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“Often described as something that would help him, evil accompanies Christian on his journey to the Celestial City. As you walk with him, you’ll begin to identify today’s many religious pitfalls. As you walk with him, you’ll begin to identify today’s many religious pitfalls. These are presented by men such as Pliable, who turns back at the Slough of Despond; and Ignorance, who believes he’s a true follower of Christ when he’s really only trusting in himself. Each character represented in this allegory is intentionally and profoundly accurate in its depiction of what we see all around us, and unfortunately, what we too often see in ourselves. But while Christian is injured and nearly killed, he eventually prevails to the end. So can you.”

(Note:  The Publisher of this book has graciously provided me with a copy of this book to give away to a blog follower.  So, if you’ve read this far, drop me an email at acc922@comcast.net…  be the first to contact me and I will send you the book for free.  Please put Pilgrim’s Progress in the subject box so that I don’t think you’re spam! 4/6/2015

…. and now for my review..

Finally. This is a book that I have wanted to read for forever, but for whatever reason I just never got to it. This is a wonderfully enlightening story that captured me from the first page. I actually found myself smiling, and sometimes frowning, as I read of Christian’s travels and pitfalls. I marveled first at the cast of characters: Pliable, who turns back as the Slough of Despond, and Ignorance, who believes that he is a true believer, to Formalist and Hypocrisy, Mister Money-Love and Lord Hate-Good and then there is of course there is the Vanity Fair, the Valley of Humiliation, the River of the Water of Life and oh so many more. Each character Christian encounters represents and so accurate depicts what we see all around us, and sometimes in ourselves. But just as Christian is nearly destroyed and killed, he prevails and enters the Celestial City. An example for us all that we too, can prevail.

This edition is filled with over 100 original illustrations as well as the bible verse references are added directly into the text that helps to tie the verse and this wonderful message together and bring it to life. I appreciate that this edition is “tweaked just enough” to make it readable today, for both young and old. I am sorry that I waited so long to read this book. It is a timeless classic that should be on everyone’s reading list.

Disclosure of Material: I received this book free from the publisher through the Life Sentence Publishing Aneko Press blogger book review program, which requires an honest, though not necessarily positive, review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s CFR Title 16, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

*Reviews of this book were posted at the following locations:
Amazon, Christian Book, Deeper Shopping, and Goodreads

View all my reviews
This book is available online at
Deeper Shopping Books and Bibles

Visit the Virtual Book Tour

________________________________________________

One thought on “Pilgrim’s Progress

Leave a Reply

